Local Hype

David Gahan is Releasing

By  | 

David Gahan, lead singer of Depeche Mode, will be releasing his first solo album, “Paper Monsters,” June 3rd, 2003. Composed with Knox Chandler and produced by Ken Thomas of Sigur Ros, this album is the first time David has ventured outside of Depeche Mode and will be his debut as a songwriter. This will be very interesting, since David has always sung the dark lyrics of Martin Gore and even earlier then that, the pop songs of Vince Clark, so now we’ll get to hear what’s on his heart and in his mind. David will have a lot to draw upon whether its his divorce, his heroin addiction and overdose, his suicide attempt, his fame or even his children. Also of interest will be the direction of the music if it’s going to be guitar-oriented or more electronic like Depeche Mode. David has said that some of the songs will be uplifting and happy, which may be odd to hear since I’m use to his voice singing the brooding, cold, lustful, angry songs of Depeche Mode.

Here is the track listing:

1. Dirty Sticky Floors
2. Hold On
3. A Little Piece
4. Bottle Living
5. Black And Blue Again
6. Stay
7. I Need You
8. Bitter Apple
9. Hidden Houses
10. Goodbye

You must be logged in to post a comment Login